Whiteford Graduate Student Award

The Society for Latin American and Caribbean Anthropology (SLACA) announces its 2018 Whiteford Graduate Student Award in Applied and Public Anthropology in honor of Michael B. Whiteford and Scott Whiteford. The award is intended to help a graduate student attend the SLACA Spring bi-annual meeting. The 2019 meeting will be held in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, April 11-13. The prize consists of US $1000 to support a student registered in a graduate program in Latin America, the Caribbean or the United States. The prize winner and honorable mention will receive a year membership to SLACA. We encourage anthropology departments to support students entering the competition by providing additional conference travel funds.

The Whiteford Graduate Student Award was created through the enduring support of Michael B and Scott Whiteford who have donated all of the royalties from their book Crossing Currents: Continuity and Change in Latin America to the Society for Latin American and Caribbean Anthropology since its publication in 1998. With their contributions, SLACA has supported Latin American scholars by helping them travel to present their work at the annual meeting of the American Anthropological Association. We are proud to extend the Whitefords’ generosity to students’ emerging scholarship at the spring SLACA meeting.

Papers submitted to the award’s committee are limited to a maximum length of six thousand words, including bibliography. Papers can be from any subfield of anthropology, but they must have an applied component and be based on field research carried out in Latin America, the Caribbean, or among first-generation migrants from these areas. The papers can be written in English, Spanish, French or Portuguese. The student must hold a current membership in SLACA. Awards will be announced at the 2019 SLACA meeting in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic (April 11-13). The paper may be submitted as early as Dec. 1, 2018 with a final deadline of February 1, 2019.

Direct questions about the prize and review process to Mónica Salas Landa ([email protected]).
Please submit papers electronically (as MS Word Files or MS Word-compatible doc files) to Mónica Salas, Chair.

Download a pdf here.